Mark's campaign notepad and other stuff

Notes from the writer/LibDem parliamentary candidate for Somerton & Frome

Election Day -47: almost Marathon time

leave a comment »

Yesterday while canvassing the streets of Bayswater, you couldn’t help noticing the number of runners about. There’s always more at this time of the year – partly it’s a spring thing, and partly it’s because the London Marathon’s just around the corner. This must be why I saw one woman running in a ballet tutu and one wearing a fake vicar’s outfit. I know it was fake because the jacket, shirt and dog-collar were all a one-piece lycra. Seriously. I know people do have to run in these costumes on Marathon day itself because they’re admirably raising thousands for charity, but it surprises me slightly they train in them with five weeks still to go.

Seeing the runners brings a wistful twang to my heart, because I ran the London Marathon in 1982 and 1983 I’d love to do it again now, and was hoping to with my brother (he’s doing it as part of his 50th birthday celebrations, if that’s the right word), but can’t because I’ve got a chronic chest infection which certainly isn’t going to go away this side of the election and some sun and rest (the drugs don’t work).

Meanwhile, I’m very proud of my brother and all the other runners out there doing the training, especially my mate Dentist Andy who’s part of the Virgin caterpillar team that’s planning to break the record for the longest chain to complete a marathon.

I can’t run with you all, but my heart goes with you and I wish you all the very best with your training and on the big day, April 25th.

Written by markblackburn

March 21, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

