Mark's campaign notepad and other stuff

Notes from the writer/LibDem parliamentary candidate for Somerton & Frome

Election Day -41: Central London Forward

with one comment

Sometimes something happens which makes the canvassing in the snow and rain, the occasional abuse, the uphill struggle all worthwhile. Often it’s just a kind word from a voter or a new volunteer coming on board. It’s seldom that attending a PR bash does it, but that’s what happened last night.

I went to the launch of “The Case for Central London”, a publication issued by Central London Forward, the strategic organisation representing the seven central London local authorities.

On my way in, as I was getting over the shock of noticing that my badge said “Conservative PPC” (I quickly amended it) I noticed the person behind me in the queue was wearing a Lib Dem badge, and I struck up a conversation, not realising he was Nick Stanton, leader of Southwark council, one of the seven.

He was on the panel, and later spoke very powerfully of the challenges in providing social housing in Central London (seven applications for every vacant housing unit). Keith Moffitt, the Lib Dem leader in Camden, introduced the evening with panache, but I have to say it wasn’t just the Lib Dems who were inspiring, and it made a welcome change to hear such a passionate and united cross-party message in support of our beloved city, especially in the run-up to 2012.

I also met the communications manager of Citywest Homes, who run Westminster’s housing stock, and as a result their Chief Exec’s office was on the phone to me today to arrange a meeting. Citywest are responsible for 21,000 homes, 9,000 of which are still tenanted. I’m looking forward to hearing how they plan to face up to the challenge of managing their housing stock in post(?)-recession times.

Written by markblackburn

March 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

