Mark's campaign notepad and other stuff

Notes from the writer/LibDem parliamentary candidate for Somerton & Frome

Election Day -12: Sex and Gambling

with 3 comments

Well, that headline should get a few more readers, but don’t get excited – the revelations won’t come until after I’m elected as MP for Westminster North…

First of all, another great day’s canvassing, delivering and everything else involved in running a campaign, with yet another record turnout of helpers. While visiting a newsagents in Westbourne Grove, I got a hello and a smile from someone I’m 99% sure was the sex writer and TV personality Tracey Cox – I hasten to add there were lots of other people out there in Bayswater introducing themselves and saying encouraging things.

When I got home after a very long day’s traipsing the streets, I found my own election address in the letterbox, at last. There’s something surreal about finding a letter addressed to you from yourself. Once I’d got over the “do I really look like that?” moment I was pretty pleased with it. Well done Ben the agent.

And as for the gambling, a few weeks ago Ladbrokes had me at 100-1, and now they’ve slashed the odds to 12-1. In another 12 days, who can tell what the odds might be?!

Written by markblackburn

April 24, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this lad wants you to win
    but he does not want to be broke

    mikeormsby

    April 25, 2010 at 7:25 am

  2. mark,
    bureau de CHANGE?
    let’s hope so
    mike

    mikeormsby

    April 25, 2010 at 7:28 am

  3. I really do hope you can stop the Tories taking this seat!!!

    It seems Ms Cash has had a lot of ‘Cash’ from a certain Lord to throw around this constituency!!!

    Keep up the good work!

    G

    April 25, 2010 at 4:26 pm


Leave a Reply

